Seagull at the park

by Barbara Gurry/rowell

I am in present time traveling by car from Florida, which is my home, to the New England Shore. A lot of my time will be spent finding birds to sketch and photograph while my husband shows his fine art photography.

In Florida I see shorebirds everywhere. When I go for a walk, ride my bike, look out my studio window or read or blog on my porch, I see these creatures perform. Anyone who has been to Florida and looked will agree they make you giggle.

I spent a week of my journey in the North Carolina Mountains and saw wonderful backyard birds flying by. They are much faster in flight so I was only able to capture a few.

Today I met up with this seagull on the shore and loved his quirky yellow legs. I think he will make a good drawing.

