Pelican

by Barbara Gurry/rowell

Pelican

©Barbara Gurry Rowell original
This spring while visiting Boca Grande, Florida with my husband I ran into a Pelican sleeping at the boat dock. Boca Grande is a magical seaside village where you haven’t much to do but relax. I decided to stop and inspect this Pelican. His stillness gave me the opportunity to see his intricate feathers and the vast colors his long beak possessed. His position was not attractive to me so I waited and waited for him to move. Just when I was sure he would never change position he raised his head and stretched into a perfect pose. I was able to record my material and colors. Because I watched the sky and background while I waited I included more than usual color into this drawing. Using pen, ink and an array of natures true colors I created my Pelican.

